I have been making my own cleaners for several years. I ran out of a few of the essential oils I use regularly a while ago, and let my husband replace my cleaners with store bought stuff.

Yesterday I got my Young Living kit. Today, I got rid of some of the yucky stuff that had made it’s way into our house and made new stuff.

image

I started with bug spray. This is a 2 oz glass bottle. I put 15 drops citronella, 15 drops rosemary, 10 drops peppermint, and 15 drops lavender. I then fill the bottle 3/4 of the way full of witch hazel, and the rest of the way with water. I had the citronella and rosemary oils on hand. We have used this in the past, and it works well. It should also keep ticks away with the addition of peppermint! I have read that you can make a good bug spray with Purification oil (a Young Living blend), but I know this one works and has most of the stuff on hand.

The next cleaner I made was an all purpose/bathroom cleaner. I used the same size bottle (I have a ton of them). For that one, I put 15 drops of Thieves oil, a splash of witch hazel, then I filled the bottle 3/4 of the way with white vinegar, and the rest of the way with water. It makes my bathroom smell like Christmas!

In the past I have made my bathroom cleaner with Castile soap and tea tree oil instead of Thieves oil. The Thieves smells better and doesn’t leave a soap residue that has to be rinsed. I am very happy with the new recipe. I will probably invest in some of the Thieves household cleaner in the future. I also need bigger glass spray bottles.

That was my big Saturday project. After I made my cleaners, I cleaned all my bathrooms. I then took my baby and the dogs (we are dog sitting a friend’s dog, so I have two dogs this weekend). We put the bug spray on (a little goes a very long way). It was a lovely afternoon!

