Some of the progress on my blankie is progress you can’t see.  I spent time this week winding little mini skeins into tiny center pull balls. I had a bunch of mini skeins from a swap back in 2009 or 2010 (a long time ago either way). I hadn’t wound them.  Now that I have been working through my jar that contains the balls ready to be knit into wee blocks, I decided it looked too empty.  So, I wound a bunch. The problem is that I love them all and can never decide what should go in the jar and what should go in the project bag to be knit with next!  I keep around 10 little balls in the bag and reach in blindly to pull a new one. Then I decide where it will look best on the row that I am working on.  Next week, I am going to try to get pictures of all the storage for my mini skeins and balls for the sock yarn blankie. Until then, I did finish two blocks this week.

2015-04-21 20.44.05-1

I don’t know any of the information on either of these yarns. I got them in a trade a long time ago.  Block 1 is purple and red and green and blue. It is so lovely.  I tried a number of times to get a picture that picked up all of the colors, but it was impossible. The color changes were super short and blended together in places.  It made for a really fun yarn to knit.  It is beautiful, but in person it is even more so.

Block 2 is blues and greens and pinks and purples.  It reminds me a bit of the Winterberry colorway on the cotton yarn that my mother-in-law really loves.  Again, I could not get my camera to pick the yarn color up.  I was taking these photos at night using my Ott light, but the color changes are so subtle.

My block total is up to 108. Since the last week was spent mostly on the ripple blankie or winding yarn, I should have more to show next week!

