My blankie has grown to 105 this week! In addition to taking my husband’s socks on vacation, I also took the blankie.  Here are the blocks that were completed this week:

2015-04-07 18.45.16

First up is a pretty sunrise colored block.  It is oranges and yellows. It is actually a bit darker than it is showing up here.  It reminds me of popsicles in the summer!  This was some of the yarn from that recent swap.

2015-04-07 18.45.39

There are two blocks in this picture. The first is reading as a grey. It is actually a grey green color and a grey purple color. It reminds me of a slightly mossy rock. It is also super soft.  I suspect there may be some silk. This was another yarn that I got in the swap.  Next to it is a blue and green block.  I am also not sure what this yarn is. I got it in a Blankie Mania swap a long time ago. It was unmarked.

2015-04-07 18.45.52

The last two blocks are pictured above.  The purple/orange one is from the recent swap. It is unmarked. This yarn is really neat.  Each color had little nubs of other colors spun into it.  It felt like a handspun yarn.  The color is darker than it appears in the picture.  The last block is next to it. It started brown, then purple, then green, then yellow, then green, then blue, then green again. It is really a neat progression.  This was yarn I got in a Blankie Mania swap a long time ago, so it is also unmarked. Basically, this week, I only knit with mystery yarns!

2015-04-06 20.00.12-1

Now, on to my exciting Etsy purchase!  I got a mini-skein set from Mint Rain Hand Dyed Yarns.  I discovered Mint Rain when the store was featured on the Geeky Girls Knit Podcast (one of my favorites).  Looking through the store, I knew I had to have a few of her mini-skeins.  The mini-skeins are so cute. They also came with some googly eye stickers and a piece of candy!  The yarns are not marked with a colorway name.  The one closest to the goodies looks like sock monkey colors!  It is one of my favorites. I believe the next one is the Jayne colorway. It reminds me a bit of Gryffindor colors.  The next one is a Christmas red and Christmas green.  After that is some on a Tofootsie base in a spring green and white.  The last one I think is the Batman colorway (although it has a bit more white).  I am going to try to ball these up and make a few squares this week!

