As you may remember, I started a Sock Yarn Blanket like Shelly Kang’s back in 2008.  I worked on it for a while. I last posted about it on block 75. Right after that, I set it aside. I did another two blocks over the years. I picked it up again in the last few weeks.  My blankie has grown to 93 blocks!

2015-03-17 18.46.26-1

Isn’t it beautiful?  I still love this project. I love working with the wee little blocks.  I love the constant changes in yarn. I love the instant gratification and potato chippy nature of the blocks.  I have added a few special blocks.  See the pretty red and brown blocks in the top row?  They are leftovers from my Ulmas shawl.  The yarn is some of the now discontinued Bugga! yarn.  They are separated by a metallic blue block. That is from the Lion Brand BonBons (metallics). I love those cute tiny skeins!  In the bottom right hand corner of this picture, you can see some leftovers from some socks I made!  That is Collinette Jitterbug in Raphael.  I love those socks! They are some of my favorite!

2015-03-17 18.46.53-1

The next picture has two more blocks that are worth talking about. The first is the tan colored block in the top row. Although it is more of a sport weight, I did a block with the leftovers of the linen (Louet Euroflax) I used for my moss grid towel. I got the yarn and the Mason Dixon Knitting book in a Flat Rate Box Swap many years ago. I use that book all the time!  I still love it. The yarn is not fun to knit with, but it is soft and lovely when washed!  Right below and to the left of that block is a block from the yarn that I used to make Wyatt’s monkey.  This is also yarn that I got in a swap. Wyatt carried this monkey everywhere for several years. He still sleeps with it regularly (when his little sister hasn’t stolen it to play with).  That monkey got us through countless medical treatments and several hospital visits with Wyatt. He is still well loved!  The yarn is Kindred Spirits Footloose Sock yarn in Footloose Fancy.  Looking around it looks as if this yarn is also discontinued.

2015-03-17 18.47.05-1

One of things that I didn’t expect when I started this is how it would not just contain memories of my own projects, but also of yarns that were cool and then faded away!  Some of the yarn balls I pull out of my little jar are from swaps 4 and 5 years ago. Many of them are discontinued or discontinued colorways. Many are from indie dyers. It is like a little time capsule. Since I have been working on blanket again, my jar was getting empty. I went back into my bin of mini skeins and pulled a bunch out. In the past, I wound them into little round balls by hand. I don’t love to knit with these little balls because they roll everywhere.  I had wound some of them into center pull balls with my ball winder, but the center was too large. They ended up tangled messes that I had to rewind by hand into little round balls.  Neither is a good option. I decided to do some research. I came across a video on winding a center pull ball by hand that seemed perfect for my mini skeins.  I used a Q hook that I had and wound a few skeins into perfect little center pull balls that don’t fall apart if the wind blows!  Now I can wait to knit with them!  I put a picture of a wound ball of Shibui sock yarn (discontinued), a mini skein of Yarn Pirate yarn in the Killer Bees colorway (discontinued), and my Q hook!  There is something meditative about winding tiny little mini balls of yarn!

2015-03-16 20.28.43

