This weekend has been really busy. I have made chocolate/white chocolate coated pretzels, coconut bon bons, and peppermint bark.  I got a chocolate melter at JoAnn’s on Black Friday. It was the best $15 I have spent in a long time!  It made it so easy to make all my Christmas candy.  It cleans up so easy too!

Besides that, I finished the superhero capes.  Four capes, instead of the three I planned.  Fortunately, flannel was $1.27 a yard at JoAnn’s on Friday.  I got some pink and a pink/brown floral for my niece’s cape (special request from her mom when she found out I had done them for the boys).  They came out really cute.

When I first read that it would take about 2 hours to make a cape, I didn’t think that was accurate.  It was.  The pink cape took me an hour and a half this evening. The other capes I made together. They took me a total of 6 hours to complete (which is 2 hours per cape).  They are not difficult. The hardest thing was the applique.  I had never done it before, but it wasn’t too bad. The flames on Logan’s cape were the most difficult.

Besides cute superhero capes, I also made a notebook cover for Logan’s teacher and a coupon holder for my mother-in-law. For the notebook cover, I used this tutorial, but I used a large composition book. I had some cute vintage fabric.  For MIL’s coupon holder, I used this tutorial.  Next time, I will add some interfacing to give it a little structure, and I will print the labels on ribbon and sew them on.  Sewing vinyl is a real pain!  I will post pictures later.  I also have been knitting on a baby hat for a friend.

I feel like I got a lot done. I still went shopping, ate too much, spent time with family, went to the city tree lighting, and went to church. I didn’t just craft all weekend.  It has left me feeling very accomplished!

