I decided to really limit my Christmas knitting this year.  I only knitted one item.  An Alan Dart Yuletide Gnome.  This gnome was knitted in the round.  I used DPNs in size 2 1/2.  Here are the adaptations:

All P rows in instructions become K rounds (that is the beauty of knitting in the round).  The only P rounds are noted below in the changes.  Any time cast on sts noted below are less than in the original instructions, all of the st counts are reduced by two.

Head and Body: Cast on 9 sts.  I did some stuffing as I went.  I added the bean bag before the final three rows on the body.

Boot and Leg: Cast on 2o sts. Where instructions say “Cast off 6 sts at beg of next 2 rows” I cast off 6 sts at the end of the first round and 6 sts at the beginning of the next round. Then did the next row as instructed.  Then K 7 rounds, P 1 round.  Then follow remaining instructions.  I had to do a small seam at the top of the foot (I made it look like lacing).  I 

also had to do a seam at the bottom of the foot.  I did the seam at the bottom first, then stuffed the foot, and then seamed the top of the foot.  Then I stuffed the leg (using a pencil).

Arm and Mitten: Cast on 10 sts.  After changing yarn, I K 3 rounds, P 1 round.  Then I cast on 4 sts at the end of next round, then cast on 4 sts at the beginning of the next round.  When it is time to cast off, I cast off 3 sts at the end of first round, then 3 sts at the beginning of the next round.  Then followed instructions.  I had to seam the top and bottoms of 

the thumbs.  I seamed the bottom of the thumb, stuffed the thumb, and then seamed the top of the thumb. Then I stuffed the mitten and arm using a pencil.

Hat: Cast on as instructed.  P 7 rounds, K 7 rounds.  Pick up where instructions say “Next row (K2, k2tog, K2) to end”. Follow instructions to the end.

Nose and Beard are knitted flat as instructed.

 

I used this gnome to hold a gift card for my secretary at work. She is a UGA fan, so he is in Bulldog colors.  The lack of seaming and pearling made this gnome go so fast!!  I plan to do several others.  I need to shop for some Gator colors by request!

