Well, Valentine’s has come and gone. DH and I both were not that interested this year. Not because we don’t love each other, but because we express it all the time. The holiday feels a bit forced and fake. We did some stuff for LB, but didn’t know what to do for each other. I gave DH a Wii game he could play with LB (actually, I gave him the money and let him pick the game). He gave me yarn…yes, the gift that says love like nothing else! Actually, he gave me money and said, “Buy yarn for yourself.” True love! So here it is! It is Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock in Bucks Bar colorway. I got two skeins. I am making myself some socks! The picture is not great because I had to take it this evening in my office. I will get a better picture some day when it is sunny out!

When I went to Hanks to buy it, I took my sister. She was in town to go to the Daytona 500. She has never expressed an interest in knitting. When we walked in, she started touching yarn. She picked up a skein of merino silk blend and held it. She touched some sock yarn. As we were leaving, she said, “Ok, I have to have some nice yarn. Can you teach me to knit? I really need some yarn.” It was great. After the kids went to bed, I got her some needles and yarn. First I taught her to cast on (long tail cast on, of course). I taught her the knit and purl stitches. Then I taught her YO, M1, K2tog, and ssk. Finally I showed her how to bind off. Then I just let her play with the stitches. She did a cute little swatch just practicing. She had some trouble figuring out how to hold her hands, but in a hour or two she got it down pretty well. We returned to Hanks today. She got herself three skeins of Lorna’s Laces worsted weight yarn for scarves for her three girls. I sent her home with some dishcloth yarn (three skeins…all Dale Jr. colors) and a pattern. I also sent her home with the January is for Karen pattern. She is a convert!! So I spread the knitting love with my Valentine’s gift!
