The last week or so has been really crazy. Because I had several days of court last week, jury selection on Monday, even more court this week, and a trial on Thursday (and then court again on Friday), I haven’t had much time for anything but work. Needless to say, I haven’t had much of a chance to post. I have had a lot I have been meaning to say, too. First, I got my new sock project bag! I absolutely love it! It is from Spinningdoggies on Etsy. I really wanted something with pockets inside for my notions. I don’t like keeping them in a bag or tin because I want to just be able to reach in the bag and find them. This also has pockets outside. As you can see from the picture, one of them is the perfect size for my mp3 player. The others are empty (for now). The inside pockets fit my notions perfectly! I wish the picture of the inside was a little better. This is the medium sized bag. I think it would be the perfect size for adult sized sock project. I have a toddler sized sock project, so it is a bit big for that (but I plan on making myself and DH some socks at some point, so I wanted the bigger size). Another thing I love about this bag is that it can snap onto my purse. My purse is a Vera Bradley in Cambridge. This bag kind of matches! I really, really love this bag!
Monday, I cast on for a new project as a reward for surviving jury selection preparations. I cast on an Alan Dart Yuletide Gnome! I originally cast on on 2s. Unfortunately, the yarn I found that was kind of flesh toned is a worsted acrylic. It didn’t like the 2s. I had to frog and start over on 3s. This is my evenings in front of the tv project. It is for Logan. He chose grey and green for the colors of the gnome (the hat, boots, and mittens will be green…the body is grey). The gnome is really easy! It is a fun, quick project. I have made good progress despite two nights this week working on my laptop instead of knitting!

Today, I had a knitting first! I blocked something for the first time ever. I blocked the scarf for my mom! It came out so beautifully! I don’t have a blocking board, so I just used some pins and towels. I put them on my deck railing (it is about the width that I wanted, so it was perfect). We had such a pretty day! The blocking really opened up the lace and gave it such nice shape! The blocking really made the scarf look like a scarf. I can’t wait to see what my mom thinks of it! She is going to love it! It really made me rethink giving it away. DH also wondered why I wasn’t keeping it when he saw it. I reminded him that I could always buy more of the same yarn and make another if I decide I really need one. I may just do that! I have just a bit left of the Lorna’s Laces Black Purl. I will probably make another of the baby gnomes for one of my nieces.
So, if you have read this far, you are probably wondering about my trial. I got a not guilty verdict!! At the end of the trial, the Judge told me that his former law partner used to say that winning a not guilty verdict was better than sex. I just had to laugh at him. I didn’t feel that way at all. All I felt was relief that I hadn’t messed up too badly. I know that when a client is probably guilty and I win, I do feel that way (it is more of a game). When a client is truely innocent and I win, I just feel relief. Part of that is some self doubt in my practice. Part of that is just a relief that the system still works. Anyway, I felt relief because I really believed in this particular client (and this particular client really believed in me…something that scared me to death). So, that was part of why my week was crazy. I worked really, really hard because I knew that I would never forgive myself for not working hard enough and losing. As it turned out, I was probably really overprepared (a good thing). Now that the trial is over, the knitting will be able to pick back up!
